Blerter 3.0: New Incident Management, Blert improvements and more

 

Blerter 3.0: New Incident Management, Blert improvements and more

 

the most significant update we have done in a while! 

With the release of Blerter 3.0, we're launching a completely new Incident Management user interface and process as well as changes to the way Blerts are actioned and managed. 

Due to the significance of these changes and the impact they have on the Blerter App overall, 3.0 is a mandatory update which means all users have to update Blerter to be able to continue to use the App. 
 

If you have automatic updates enabled, which we recommend, you don’t have to do anything. Otherwise, please go to the App Store and download the latest version of Blerter. 

 
 
 
 

 

What's new

 

Changes that impact the entire workforce:

Editing Blerts

  • Users are now able to edit a Blert after it has been sent – until it has been acknowledged by a manager.
  • This enables the workforce to add additional information, make corrections and generally make sure the Blert contains as much information as possible.
  • Once a manager has acknowledged or actioned the Blert it can no longer be edited. But if the situation changes, the team member can add comments to the Blert.

 

Adding comments to Blerts

  • Users are now able to add comments to Blerts.
  • This enables the manager(s) and the person who recorded the Blert to have a conversation, seek clarification and add additional details to the Blert.
  • Comments can be added at any point, independent of whether the Blert is New, In Progress or Closed.

 

 

Learn more about Blerts, including how to edit them and add comments in the User Guides.

 
 

Blert Statuses have changed

  • The Blert Statuses have changed to be more descriptive and make the Blert management process easier.
    • “Reported” is changing to “New”
      • All Blerts that have been sent but have not been acknowledged or actioned are categorized as ‘New’.
    • “Converted” is changing to “In Progress”
      • All Blerts that have been acknowledged and/or converted or linked to a Hazard, Incident, Observation or Document are ‘In Progress’.
    • "Closed" remains "Closed"
      • All Blerts that have been Closed by a manager. 
  • The Status of all your existing Blerts has automatically been updated to match the new Status names.
  • The Blerts overview pages will show all Blerts organized by the new Statuses.

 


Changes that impact only Managers

 

Responding to a Blert

Changes to the user interface and new guidance text now outline a clear three-step process which makes it easier for managers to respond to a Blert:

  1. Acknowledge the Blert: This is an easy way for the manager to let the person who sent the Blert know that is has been received and will be actioned.
  2. Action the Blert: Managers have the option to convert the Blert to a new Hazard, Incident, Observation or Document or Link the Blert to an existing Hazard, Incident, Observation or Document.
  3. Close the Blert: Once all actions have been completed, managers can close the Blert.

 

 

Incident Management:

The Incident Management feature has received a complete overhaul in Blerter 3.0 which sees it evolve from an incident register and tracker to a sophisticated incident management tool.

A new Incident User Interface

  • The new Incident record in Blerter is divided into three tabs, each representing a critical aspect of the incident management process:
    1. Record
      • The Record tab is where all information about the Incident will the captured.
    2. Manage
      • The Manage tab is where those responsible for investigating and managing the Incident manage and track activity including tasks, attachements, learnings and more. 
    3. Communicate
      • The Communicate tab is where users manage the communication of the Incident with the wider workforce. This includes sending Alerts and creating Hazards related to this Incident
  • New guide text on all tabs will help manage Incidents quickly – especially for those users who have limited health & safety and Blerter training.

 

Incident Templates

  • New templates make incident management even easier and faster.
  • When creating a new Incident, the first step ise to select a template based on the type of Incident that occurred: Accident, Illness, Near Miss, Damage to Equipment, Behaviour, Environmental or Infrastructure.
  • Templates are set up with specific guidance text and, in some cases pre-set tasks relevant to the individual situation. 
  • A generic template will be available for Incidents where the user wants to choose the tasks and other details themselves.
 

Learn more about creating and managing Incidents in our User Guides

 

Incident Statuses have changed

  • The new process of managing Incidents to conclusion removes the need for ‘draft’ and ‘published’ statuses.
  • New Incident Statuses
    • “Draft” and “Published” are merged and changed to “Open”
    • “Archived” and “Retired” are merged and changed to “Closed”
    • “Trash” is now “Cancelled”
  • Incident Reports can be filtered by the new status
  • The status of all your existing Incidents will automatically be updated to align with the new statuses

Update Now